Getting to Know Nick Hissom


Nick Hissom, AKA, Hizzy, is a British singer and songwriter from London hitting the music charts in the USA with his new single, “He Ain’t Better.”

Hissom is an independent artist who owns his own label, Massive, distributed by RED Distribution, and Sony Music at only 25 years old. Graduating from IVY League, UPENN, Hissom is a genius when it comes to running his own business and being his own boss to make it successfully in the music industry, especially during these millennial times, where it’s more acceptable to own your own content and music. Hissom is making his own rules when it comes to music and we are loving every one of them!

 

  1. What motivated you to continue your singing career despite the challenges you faced?

The challenge itself inspires me to keep going, and also my genuine love for music and creating. Every time I face rejection in my career or life in general, I use it as drive and motivation to succeed and that’s what my single “He Aint Better” is all about. My music is about empowerment, confidence, and believing in yourself no matter what. Be accepting of yourself and others despite our differences, I think the world needs that right now. We all face challenges in life, and the important thing is that we all learn from our trials and tribulations in order to become better people, which all starts with working on ourselves from within.

  1. Who is a person that you considered as a role model early in your life? How does this person impact your life today?

My parents and Enrique Iglesias. My parents taught me everything about everything! And Enrique taught me everything about music. I used to listen to him in the car on my way to school and I’ve always had an affinity for his sound, and love of people. Something that is common in all my inspirations is that they strive to improve themselves every day and that they are empathetic towards others.

  1. Tell us more about the support you give to anti-bullying campaigns.

I think the most significant thing anyone can do to support anti-bullying is to internalize that mentality in their day to day life. Be a person that makes other people feel good, be encouraging, be supportive.  Take action if you see someone being bullied. Be the person that makes that change by standing up for others. I always encourage my fans to get involved in anti-bullying campaigns, support them, and feel the support from others like stompoutbullying.org, which is the leading national non-profit dedicated to changing the culture of students. It works to reduce and prevent bullying, cyberbullying, discrimination, racism, hatred, and violence and educates and promotes students on civility, inclusion, and equality for all.

I want to motivate my fans to change their thinking towards bullying and to feel empowered by my music. Acceptance is a movement greater than ourselves that we need to resonate with and embrace. This all starts with educating our students, and our youth that will, hopefully, make better choices for the generations to come. I’ve had many blessings in my life and I want to use my voice as a platform to help others find theirs.

  1. What is your favorite quote? Why?

“To see a world in a grain of sand, and heaven in a wildflower. To hold infinity in the palm of your hand, and eternity in an hour”

It’s from a famous poem by my favorite poet, William Blake.  I love it because it shows how there is more to everything that meets the eye. As an artist and as a label owner, part of discovering talent is about being able to see a world in a grain of sand, being able to look at something that is seemingly insignificant and envision the greater potential that lies within. We can all find great power within ourselves, and we all have the ability to be great. We must believe in that and own it.

  1. What inspires you to write lyrics?

My lyrics are often inspired by my life and my feelings but there’s also an element of storytelling to them. I focus primarily on how I want the lyrics to make someone feel and when the time is right the words to describe that feeling, or image, just come to me. I’m also inspired by people. To influence one another to become better; That’s what my music is all about.

  1. What is your physical and mental wellbeing routine like?

I meditate and keep active as much as possible. I disconnect from my phone, and I keep myself around positive energy. Most importantly, I stay blessed and appreciative to be doing something I love so much.

Take each day as it comes, lives in the moment, and be grateful for what you have because being grateful and humble is where true blessings come from, at least for me. I think It’s important to focus on creating for yourself the strongest mind, body, and soul possible.

  1. What are some of your personal goals?

I want to tour and meet as many of my fans around the world as I can. I want to connect with people and inspire them on a deep level through my music. I want to give back. It’s very crucial for me to give back to non-profit and charitable organizations like Lung Cancer Alliance, or the Gabrielle’s Angels Foundation, or just give back in general. I want to be known for many things but for having a generous heart the most.

  1. If you could spend a day in someone else’s shoes, whose would they be? Why?

Walking in somebody else’s shoes is all about being able to empathize with them and understand their perspective. I don’t judge people, for better or worse, so I find it easy to understand them. By listening, I’ve walked in a lot of different shoes throughout my life. Everybody has a unique experience and there’s something to learn from all of us. That being said, if I could walk in someone else’s shoes, I think it would be Michael Jackson. I think he had a special way of empathizing with people and making their lives better through his music.

  1. What’s your philosophy in life?

Trust yourself, your energy, and your feelings. Surround yourself with love and appreciation. Make thoughtful, intelligent choices. Embrace the journey and the process.

  1. What is one advice you could give to aspiring singers?

Keep putting out good content. Be consistent. Always keep improving your music. Never let anyone tell you can’t do it and support one another. Everyone needs people to believe in them no matter what they do.

Interested to know more about Nick Hissom? Visit www.nickhissom.com for all updates on new music coming out and more.  You can also download Nick Hissom’s music on itunes and Spotify! Stay tuned for “He Ain’t Better” remix featuring Zoey Dollaz. It’s coming out on July 11th!!

Leave a comment